Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Courtney Congratulates Dymotek on Presidential "E" Award

May 18, 2015
Press Release

WASHINGTON—Today Congressman Joe Courtney (CT-2) joined U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker in presenting the President’s “E” Award for achievements in exports to the Dymotek Corporation of Ellington, Connecticut.  Courtney attended the award ceremony at the Commerce Department in Washington, where six Connecticut companies received the President’s “E” Award, which recognizes the contribution companies have made to increasing American exports, creating jobs, and building export markets.

Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker (left),  Congressman Joe Courtney (right), and  Arun M.. Kumar, Director General of the U.S. and Foreign Commercial Service and Assistant Secretary for Global Markets, U.S. Department of Commerce (second from right), present the President’s “E” Award to Dymotek CEO Normand Forest (center) and Chief Technology Officer Victor Morando (second from left).

Normand Forest, CEO of Dymotek Corporation, accepted the award on behalf of the Ellington, Connecticut company. Dymotek employs approximately 125 personnel and exports innovative injection-molded plastic products to more than 30 countries.

“I congratulate Norm and the Dymotek team for their outstanding work to build strong overseas markets and their commitment to our region. By expanding locally and sourcing machinery from Connecticut manufacturers, Dymotek is strengthening our regional economy. Increasing exports is critical to the economic recovery, and these awards recognize companies paving the way for a growing export strategy,” Courtney said.

Dymotek also partners with Asnuntuck Community College in Enfield to allow students enrolled in the Manufacturing Technology Program to participate in tooling apprenticeships. Students may earn credit towards their certificate and receive job training at the same time.

In conjunction with the Department of Commerce Middletown Export Assistance Center, Congressman Courtney has led several successful trade missions abroad to assist Connecticut companies in their efforts to expand overseas markets. In 2014, U.S. exports of goods and services exceeded $2.34 trillion, setting a record for a fifth consecutive year. In 2014, Connecticut exports totaled nearly $16 billion, supporting over 70,000 jobs.

In addition to Dymotek, five other Connecticut companies were among the 45 national E-awardees. Jonal Laboratories of Meriden, Mutualink LLC of Wallingford, Finacity of Stamford, Proton OnSite of Wallingford, and Shipman and Goodwin, LLP were also awarded the President’s “E” Award today.

The “E” Award Program was established by Executive Order on December 5, 1961. A second level of the Award is the “E Star” Award, which was authorized by the Secretary of Commerce in 1969 to recognize previous “E” Award winners for continued significant contributions to U.S. export expansion.  The “E” and “E Star” Awards are the highest recognition any U.S. entity may receive for supporting export activity. Winners are authorized to fly the blue and white banner, to display the accompanying certificate, to wear the “E” lapel pin, and to refer to the award in their advertising.