Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Courtney congratulates Dorothy C. Goodwin School on National Blue Ribbon School Designation

September 29, 2015
Press Release

WASHINGTON—Congressman Joe Courtney (CT-2) congratulated Dorothy C. Goodwin Elementary School in Storrs, Connecticut on being named one of Connecticut’s four National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education today:

“Congratulations to Principal Susan Muirhead and the Goodwin School team on all of the hard work and dedication that has earned them national recognition today. Storrs families are lucky to have these educators in the community. Connecticut legend Dorothy Goodwin—a distinguished public servant and committed educator from Mansfield—would be so proud to see her namesake school leading the way in academic excellence,” Courtney said.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan recognized 335 K-12 schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2015. The Department will honor all 285 public and 50 private schools at a recognition ceremony on Nov. 9-10 in Washington, D.C. Each school will receive an award plaque and a flag as symbols of its accomplishments. In its 33-year history, more than 8,000 of America's schools have received the coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award.