## Congress of the United States

## Washington, DC 20515

October 9, 2024

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the US House of Representatives US House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Johnson,

We write to you amidst a season marked by unprecedented natural disasters and increasingly severe weather events that have left communities across our nation in dire need of additional and comprehensive disaster relief funding.

Recent legislation has provided initial relief funds, yet these provisions fall critically short of what will be necessary to address the scale of destruction and the recovery needs for Fiscal Year 2025. We, therefore, urge you to immediately reconvene the US House of Representatives so that it can pass robust disaster relief funding.

The funds previously allocated were a necessary first step, allowing for an initial response to the immediate aftermath of these disasters. However, as recovery efforts continue, it is abundantly clear that these funds will not suffice.

Furthermore, the frequency and intensity of these extreme weather events are a clarion call for proactive measures. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) must be equipped not only to respond to current disasters but also to adequately prepare for future events. This requires substantial funding that ensures FEMA can maintain a state of readiness and provide immediate assistance when disasters strike. Additionally, the Small Business Administration disaster relief loan program must be replenished as soon as possible to help business owners rebuild their enterprises and communities.

As representatives of the American people, it is our duty to ensure that every community has the resources to recover and rebuild in the wake of devastation. This is not merely a matter of policy but a profound obligation to the citizens we serve, who depend on their government for support in their most critical times of need.

Therefore, we strongly urge you to bring the US House of Representatives back into session to approve the necessary funding that will empower FEMA and the SBA to fulfill their disaster relief missions. Our communities cannot wait, and we must act swiftly to provide them with the assurance that their government will stand by them.

Thank you for your attention to this urgent matter. We hope for your leadership in reconvening the House and ensuring that our nation is prepared to meet the challenges posed by natural disasters.

Sincerely,

Laptur

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Kathy Manning Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Sma Titos

Dina Titus Member of Congress

liaig

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Jasmine Member of Congress

intenio e congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Vargo

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

DIN

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Pauls.tonly

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Telanie A. Stansburg

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Notine Waters

Maxine Waters Member of Congress

Ju R. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Wiley Nickel Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

N Tokude

Ju Tokuda Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Suzar K. DelBene Member of Congress

arbare o

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Gabe Vasquez Member of Congress

Yadira Caraveo, M.D. Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

walnel m.

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

ie Dinje

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank' Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

a Camita

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

lenn Ivev

Member of Congress

Ke GR

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Frederica & Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Mira

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

High & menterge

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

Ville Jer

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Jonn

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Ula

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Spin Garcia

Member of Congress

nettony,

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Cinica Exobar

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragan

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Mark Jalam

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

med

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Mall

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Paus Datate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Gleand H. Moton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlage Dove Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Thomas R. Sugge

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

p WM

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress