Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 12, 2017

The Honorable David J. Shulkin, M.D. Secretary U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs 810 Vermont Ave, NW Washington, DC 20420

Dear Secretary Shulkin:

As Members of Congress who share your commitment to our nation's veterans, we write to express our extreme concern with your proposal to cut critical unemployment benefits for disabled veterans as part of your Fiscal Year 2018 Budget Submission.

Your budget request proposes to eliminate Individual Unemployability (IU) benefits to retirement-aged veterans. As you know, nearly 225,000 senior veterans across the country who depend on the IU program as an economic lifeline would be impacted by these short-sighted cuts.

Assuming these veterans can compensate for the loss of income from IU with other retirement sources is simply incorrect. As noted by AMVETS, "these veterans have largely been disabled, out of the work force and not paying into Social Security for many years before reaching 65. Many have been severely disabled as a result of their military service and unable to work since the day of their discharge." With little to no access to resources like 401(k)'s, IU payments provide needed support for these veterans and their families.

Gutting critical benefits for our veterans who have been unable to find work as a result of their servicerelated disabilities breaks our fundamental promise to the brave men and women who served our country in uniform. Our district offices, in addition to local VSO's, report receiving calls from worried veterans who would be devastated by these proposed cuts.

Ending the IU program for our neediest veterans would mark a stark departure from long-standing bipartisan commitments to end veteran homelessness and poverty, and would leave thousands struggling to make ends meet. More than ever, we must continue to build on progress in our states to permanently end veteran homelessness, not undermine these critical efforts. To that end, we strongly oppose the proposed changes to IU and will work to ensure that these dangerous cuts are not implemented.

Sincerely,

llean

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

1 das

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress



Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress

Nycia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Jacky Rosen . Member of Congress

entr ohn Lewis

Member of Congress

O'Rourke. reto

Beto O'Rourke Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Salud O. Carbajal Member of Congress

Jim Costa **T** Member of Congress

Carol Shea-Porter Member of Congress

Walter B. Jone

Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

lie

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

Member of Congress

novette 1

Nanette Diaz Barragán 🖉 Member of Congress

Ruben Kihuen

Member of Congress

oyce Beatty Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Michelle

Michelle Lujan Grisham Member of Congress

Sha nnd Anna G. Eshoo

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz

Member of Congress

cu

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Hender of Congless

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Galdon

Tulsi Gabbard Member of Congress

[/ Polo. OU in

Collin C. Peterson Member of Congress

the Driell

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Colleen Hanabusa Member of Congress

Cedric L. Richmond Member of Congress

Charlie Crist Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

anes Norma J. Torres

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Gene Green Member of Congress

unde

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Filemon Vela Member of Congress

Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

Stephanie N. Murphy Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress